Week 1: BRASIL!!!

Friends and Family!!

Thank you all so much for writing, it means a whole lot, I love you all! I don’t have very much time, but I am sorry if I don’t get back to all of you, but know that I love all of you!

So here I am at the São Paulo CTM!! I LOVE it. Seriously. I am in love. Now. Lol so the first five days were an adjustment but now that I have gotten used to the flow, I love it here. I love the people here. My companion, Sis Wright, and I room with two other Brazilians that don’t speak a lick of english. But, guess what guys, I took a Portuguese class in college. Whaaaat?! I know, I know. But seriously, I think that that class is the biggest blessing I have ever received in my entire life. I am able to understand almost everything that the Brasileiros say and I can sort of talk to them (they make fun of me though lol it’s fine they love me) so I have made some of my best friends already. Especially my roommates! I love them to death. They teach me so much and they are hilarious. All the Brasileiros are warm and friendly and hilarious. They all know me because I’m the only Sister Smith here, and the fact that my last name is Smith is a huge deal. Every time I meet someone new: “Oi Sister Smith, prazer. Nossa, Smith??? José Smith?????” For Joseph Smith hahaha. And they pronounce it “Seester Smeeche” hahaha I love it so much. I’ll just be walking down the hallway and I will hear a Brasileiro yell out “Smeeche!”

I also LOVE my district. So the missionaries that flew on the plane from Atlanta to São Paulo with me are all in my district! We did split up, so the other half are in what we call our “twin district,” but their room is right next to us so we see them all the time. But we are all super tight. We all struggle together and grow and learn and laugh and everything together. Literally everything. From 7 in the morning until 9:30 at night, we are literally together all the time. Stuck in a classroom. That is the only thing that has gotten to me, being stuck in a classroom for literally about 14 hours straight, except for meals. The elders in my district have started keeping a log of when I “lose it,” or when I start doing really dumb things because I’m going crazy because I just want to go outside. It used to be intervals but I think now it is just from about 6:30pm on. For the past like four days, every night at 6:30 without fail and without realizing I will “lose it” and they will all just point at their watches and give me a look hahahha. Good times. I really do love them though. And I love our schedule, it feels good (albeit overwhelming sometimes lol) to just focus on one thing and study and study and study. Well I suppose for me it is two things: Português and the gospel. But I have already learned so much and gone through so many ups and downs and grown so much closer to Heavenly Father and I am truly so so so happy. I can’t imagine anywhere else I would rather be.

Yesterday I wrote in my journal, “My heart is overflowing, my soul is brimming. How can I be so blessed?” Cheesy, I know, but it truly is how I feel.

I wish I could put in all the scriptures here that I found this week that have changed so many things for me; the scriptures are seriously brimming with treasures. I never even knew before! If you have a serious study of the scritpures, you will find endless treasures.

I’m out of time, sorry for the typos, but I love all of you so so much and I know this church is true and I know that Heavenly Father loves us and cares for us, I see it in my life every moment of every day. Read the Book of Mormon and pray and everything will be okay and you will feel your soul brimming with love 🙂

PS I can’t send photos in the mtc….. sorry lololol

LOVE YOU ALL

Leave a Reply

