Week 18: Goodbye Baby Smith, Hello slightly less Baby Smith

Loved ones!

I AM DONE TRAINING! I am no longer a baby!! I am stoked, but also um pouco terrified. I will have to start leading things, and not just following, especially because transfers were this week and I got a new companion! Sister R, minha mãe, got transferred, and we cried. And so I am still here in Areal! My new comp is Sister Pereira and she is Brasileira! Which is good because I will actually learn Portuguese now and not Portuguese with a mixture of Spanish hahaha. But she seems awesome! And I am so excited, albeit a little scared, to stay here, because I will have to lead for a while, because I know the area and our investigators and the members and so forth. But I have some pretty good ideas that I want to implement that will hopefully make a difference. So I am actually way excited.

Not sure if you guys have noticed, but I haven’t talked much about my investigators in my emails haha. It is because this last transfer was a transfer of fire! In the sense that none of our investigators progressed, and they all eventually fell through, and it was a bit discouraging. So by the end of this transfer, we were left with a very small teaching pool, and we didn’t know what to do. But THEN, a miracle came to our zone conference, a miracle named President Cruz. He looked at our planners and told us straight up, you guys will never succeed if you keep planning this way. And so we changed! This last weekly planning, Sister R and I spent FIVE HOURS planning, and I almost died, because you guys know how much I love planning hahaha. But, it was also awesome because I felt so motivated to change so that we can have success! And lo and behold, this week was a week of success and miracles and many many gifts from the Lord. And we fasted specifically this week to be able to grow our teaching pool, and this week it grew incredibly, with investigators of quality! And so right now, all of our investigators are brand spankin’ new, but, they are all incredible and I have a ton of faith. Now I just need to figure out how to get them to progress haha. But the Lord works in miracles, that is what I know, and so I know that He will bring about some pretty awesome miracles here in Areal.

I heard about Donald Trump… many many times hahaha. Everyone here says to me basically, “Good luck with your country!” But my country right now is Brazil so I’m not stressin’.

I love you all very very much, and I am so grateful for all of you and your examples and your love and support and prayers. I am loving it here, I am growing every day, and I am going closer to the Lord every day, and I am more and more humbled by it every day. The more I learn about Him, the more incredibly humbled I feel. He is a pretty great guy.

I love you all! Stay sweet, and stay active 😉 and give referrals to the missionaries!!!!

Leave a Reply

