Week 21: It’s a Gap Christmas! Also, the miracle of repentance

Hello loved ones!!!

This week happened a MIRACLEEEEEEEEEE.  A Christmas miracle!! Or, for my dearest family, a Gap Christmas!!

gettingready
Sister Pereira was making fun of how I get ready in the morning lol

Hahaha good times fam.

Anyways, this week we were knocking doors in the heat of the day (in the heat of the night, people will find you- Anastasia; Steph will remember lol) and we were receiving the average amount of rejection and then my body was guided without my knowing to a woman sitting off to the side. And so we talked with her and she asked us if we wanted to go to her house and so we went and we taught her and she said that she had been waiting for this for a really long time. She is literally at the fundo do posso, which means basically she hit rock bottom. And so she is looking for a way out and she recognized that the evangelho of Jesus Christ would be her saving grace, literally, and she recognized from lesson one.
hamburger
We bought a huge hamburger that was better than any other hamburger I’ve ever eaten in my life. I’m noticing now that there is something sticking out of it lol gross
 It was super cool. And so we will have to work with her a lot, but I am already seeing how the gospel is beginning to transform her life, and this is why I came on a mission. I wanted to help others let the gospel transform their lives just as it has transformed mine, and watch it happen. I can’t think of anything more miraculous than the miracle of repentance. Every day I feel more and more overwhelmed by the power of the Atonement of Jesus Christ and how it works in the lives of those who let it work in their lives through arrependimento.
So we have a pretty steady pool of investigators whom I love! But also with whom I get a
mosquito-bites
I GOT ATTACKED BY MOSQUITOS but don’t worry fam I don’t have Zika yet

little frustrated sometimes, because I love them to death and I want so badly for them to see how the gospel can change their lives but they are all stubborn as heck. But Sister Pereira and I are also lol so we are not going to give up. Especially there is one family, a mom and her son, who I LOVE, Marcelo and Vera. They are so interested in learning more and they are reading the Book of Mormon and praying and everything, and I know they know that it’s true. The only thing with them is that they don’t like commitment. And this is how everyone here in the South is. Stubborn and afraid of commitment hahaha. But we are working with them and it’s awesome because I am growing to love love love teaching, which I never thought I would, especially teaching in Portuguese. The gift of tongues is real everyone.

Also I am going to start teaching an english class! I am horrified, I have no idea how to teach english haha but hopefully we will find some new investigators through this.
So basically that’s the update. Christmas here is super weird because it’s like 90 degrees with a million percent humidity and there are only decorations for Christmas in the malls or the houses of rich people haha so not much. Sister Pereira and I are trying to guilt the members into bringing us a Christmas tree and other decorations for our apartment. I feel like I have the language down pretty well and I am suuuuuper grateful.
companion
“Minha negrina” hahaha also it was really bright and my eyes are closing and I look under the influence sorry everyone
ALSO HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO MY LOVELY NAHNCAY I LOVE YOU SO MUCH. ALSO HAPPY DAY OF BIRTH LITERALLY TO MY SWEET NEW NEPHEW ARI AHHHH SO EXCITED TO MEET HIM IN A YEAR AND TWO MONTHS
I love you all!!!! Sorry I don’t put a ton of details in these letters but I always forget everything that happened the week before lol
Leave a Reply

